Want to keep watching, reading, and listening? Don’t know where to start? Checking in on award-winning books is a great way to find your next book. Below is extensive list of top-rated titles in many different genres – explore the links to find out about the awards themselves, along with the lists of winners. This should keep your plate full for quite awhile!

Agatha Awards

Edgar Awards

National Book Circle Critic Awards

National Book Awards

Pulitzer Prizes

Newbury and Caldecott Medals

Man Booker Prize

Oscar Winners

Hugo Awards

Agatha Awards

The Agatha Awards, named for Agatha Christie, are literary awards for mystery and crime writers who write in the mystery subgenre. So get your sleuth on with these great books.

Edgar Awards

Edgar Award. The Edgar Allan Poe Awards (popularly called the Edgars), named after Edgar Allan Poe, are presented every year by the Mystery Writers of America. They honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television published or produced in the previous year.

National Book Critic Circle Awards

The National Book Critics Circle honors outstanding writing and fosters a national conversation about reading, criticism and literature.  The National Book Critics Circle awards are given each March and honor the best literature published in the United States in six categories—autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. These are the only national literary awards chosen by critics themselves.

National Book Awards

The mission of the National Book Foundation and the National Book Awards is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of great writing in America. More than sixty years since its creation, the National Book Awards continues to recognize the best of American literature, raise the cultural appreciation of great writing, promote the enduring value of reading, and advance the careers of established and emerging writers.

Pulitzer Prize Winners

Joseph Pulitzer’s 1904 will, made provisions for the establishment of the Pulitzer Prizes as an incentive to excellence. The Pulitzer Prize is one of the top honors a work can receive. 

Newbery and Caldecott Medals

For your child, or even your inner child…check out some of the books that have received top honors for excellent storytelling, illustration and most importantly, imagination.

  • The Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
  • The Caldecott Medal to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction  is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel. 

2016 Oscar Winners

Ah, Oscars night.  The glitz and glamour of Hollywood was on full display.  If you want to see what all the fuss is about, take a look at the movies that we have in our collection which were honored at this year’s ceremony.

Hugo Award Winners

The 2018 Hugo Awards were held last night at the World Science Fiction Convention in San Jose, California. The Hugo award, voted on by members of the fan community, is considered the highest honor for science fiction and fantasy literature.