In search of a new book? We can help.  Here you'll find recommendations, and maybe, a new favorite book!

 

Adult Booklists

Teen Booklists

Kids Booklists

DVD Lists

Keep checking back, we’ll always be adding new lists!  Want more today? Take a look at our archives for Adults, Teens and Tweens, Children, and DVDs.


Adult Booklists


OUR ANCIENTS: DISCOVERING ANCIENT CIVILIZATIONS

Just how different from us were the men and women who lived in ancient times? Their technology was very different, of course, but how were they different from us in what inspired them, what they believed in, and how they lived their lives? Much more than facts and figures, well-written histories seek to answer these questions as well as add color and context to our interpretations of the past. 


BE A MOVIE STAR

We all dream of being famous movie stars, right? Well, here are some resources that show the pros and cons of a career in show business.


SWEET HOME NEW JERSEY

The state is as much a part of the story as any of the characters. Whether in the background or center stage, New Jersey is intricately woven into these titles.


Our Staff's Favorite Reads of 2017

Our staff takes a look back at the year and share their favorite titles.


Teen Booklists


Book Report Due? No Time to Read? Try One of These!

There are some amazing authors out there who can pack the power of a novel into just a few well-chosen words. If you have a book report due and are short on time, try one of the titles on my list. They're short on word count, but long on great plots, beautiful characters, and stunning themes.


Disappearing Acts

In each of these sharply written, psychological YA mystery thrillers (plus one comedy) someone important to our hero goes missing, often under disturbing circumstances. Each entry also has that "something more" that will leave you thinking, imagining, and caring about the characters while your heart races out of your chest. Now, go get lost in these books.


Winter Break Reads

Cold day? No school? Then it's the perfect time for a good winter read!


Teen Thrillers

Looking for a book that will get your heart racing and keep the pages turning? Look no further. These books are guaranteed to keep you on a the edge of your seat from the first page!


Kids Booklists


Sing Along with Books

TBut I can't sing! I don't remember the words! I don't know the tune!" Doesn't matter! You can sing with your kids and they won't care--in fact, they'll love it.


BEDTIME IS CANCELED

Is bedtime in your house met with great reluctance? Enjoy this list of picture books as you discuss with your little one why the much resisted bedtime is actually quite important.


GREAT READS FOR A CLASSROOM VISIT

When you're invited to read a book to a classroom of early elementary school children the pressure is on to choose a great read-aloud story. Any of the titles on this list are sure to be a success during your next classroom visit.


EXPERIMENTING WITH SCIENCE

Would you like to perform a science experiment? After checking out these kid- and family-friendly books, my hypothesis is you and your family will have a great time learning about science together.


DVD Lists


OUT OF THIS WORLD MOVIES

Whether they are set in space or about the space race, these films are sure to get you ready for "take off." 


FOOD ON FILM

Sometimes we recall a great movie the way we would a really fine meal—as a rich, flavorful experience. And food captured on-screen can have a particularly seductive appeal.


COMICS @ THE MOVIES

Super heroes may get all the attention when it comes to comic book movie adaptations, but there are a few comics artists whose lives and work have been depicted in film as well.


OUR STAFF'S FAVORITE MOVIES AND SHOWS OF 2017

Our expert staff take a look back at the year and share their favorite titles.