In search of a new book? We can help.  Here you'll find recommendations, and maybe, a new favorite book!

 

Adult Booklists

Teen Booklists

Kids Booklists

DVD Lists

Keep checking back, we’ll always be adding new lists!  Want more today? Take a look at our archives for Adults, Teens and Tweens, Children, and DVDs.


Adult Booklists


Hail to the chief (of police)

They may be the chief of police but that doesn’t quench their thirst for justice.


Pirates on high seas

Inside these books are the stuff of legend, where tales of adventure and intrigue on the high seas run rampant.


Creepy Campus Mysteries

Fall is really when the new year starts, despite what the calendar insists about January. In honor of the return to school days, here are some creepy mysteries set on campus which will certifiably keep you awake so you can get that last minute cram session in.


True (Crime) is Stranger than Fiction

For every suspense novel that shocks and awes readers, there are real life stories that make fiction seem tame and predictable.


Teen Booklists


Zombie Zone

Four out of five zombiologists agree: The best way to keep from turning into a zombie is to keep your mind engaged in a good book.  Make your brain so powerful that zombies won’t be able to eat it.


Howl at the Moon

By all means, devour these books, but please do not return them with fang marks.


A Taste of Blood Lust

Here are some tales of the undead you can stick your fangs into


which witch?

In the mood for a real witch hunt?  Good or evil, frightening or funny, from folklore or from Disney, these witches remind you can judge a book by its coven.


Kids Booklists


Let’s Go to the theater

There’s something about the subject of theater that lends itself to comedy. I suppose it’s because there are so many things that can go wrong when a group of people gather together to create a production.  Many of these books will definitely make your kids giggle, whether the kids have any aspiration for the stage, or not.


Puzzling Mysteries

We love riddles and word puzzles, and we love them even more when they’re wrapped up in a story. You can work right alongside the characters as they try to solve a secret code or figure out how the story’s puzzle pieces fit together.


Read a Banned Book!

When your children read books that have been challenged or banned, you have a double opportunity as a parent; you can discuss the books themselves, and the information they provide, and you can also talk about why people might find them troubling. Here are a few books that are often challenged, yet present great opportunities for children to learn.


Super Sports Books

If you have a child who loves to run, jump and score, then he or she will enjoy reading these books with gusto.


DVD Lists


What’s Your Favorite Scary Movie?

There’s nothing better in October than settling in with a good scary movie on a dark, stormy night. It’s perfect for that Halloween movie binge to keep you wide awake all the way through November.


Ok, Let’s ride!

All the rubber-burning, car-chasing goodness you could ask for.


Hot off the presses

Break the story here first with these newsroom inspired movies.


The Best of the 80’s

Tease your hair, put on your leg warmers and Letterman jacket and hold a boom box above your head blasting Peter Gabriel. Then settle in with some of the best of the decade of excess.